Nomad Boxed Set

Cowboy Junkies – The Nomad Series box set

The Nomad Series box set includes 5 compact discs: Renmin Park (volume 1), Demons (volume 2), Sing In My Meadow (volume 3) and The Wilderness (volume 4) as well as Extras, which is made up of 10 songs recorded during the making of The Nomad Series but not included on any of the volumes. The box set also contains a 52 page colour booklet.

The Nomad Series

From June 2010 to January 2012 we wrote, recorded, mixed and released four albums that are collectively called The Nomad Series. We tried to give each album in the series a certain character that distinguished one from the next; Renmin Park (volume 1) was inspired by Michael Timmins 3 month stay in China with his family. Many of the songs were developed around looped street recordings that Michael made while exploring the streets and parks of Jingjiang China. It is an experimental album but it still contains much of the bands signature sound; Demons (volume 2) is a collection of songs written by the late, great Vic Chesnutt. Vic was a colleague of ours whose music and songs touched us deeply. His untimely death was a blow to all who knew him and to all who loved his work. This album is our celebration of his life and work and our attempt at helping to spread the gospel of Vic; Sing In My Meadow (volume 3) is our attempt at capturing the energy and spontaneity that infuses the best of our (or any) live performance. These are all original songs, recorded in the course of a few days, infused with electricity and sprinkled with a touch of good old fashion madness; The Wilderness (volume 4) is us reaching back to our roots. This album highlights the folk and roots side of our music, with an emphasis on the singer and the song.

For a more in depth look at the inspirations and creative process behind The Nomad Series, check out the blog archives: Renmin Park; Demons; Sing In My Meadow; The Wilderness.

The Nomad Series Box Set track listing:

Renmin Park, Volume 1

  • Intro
  • Renmin Park
  • Sir Francis Bacon At The Net
  • Stranger Here
  • A Few Bags of Grain
  • I Cannot Sit Sadly By Your Side
  • (You’ve Got to Get) A Good Heart
  • Cicadas
  • Interlude
  • My Fall
  • Little Dark Heart
  • A Walk In The Park
  • Renmin Park (revisited)
  • Coda
  • Demons, Volume 2

    • Wrong Piano
    • Flirted With You All My Life
    • See You Around
    • Betty Lonely
    • Square Room
    • Ladle
    • Supernatural
    • West Of Rome
    • Strange Language
    • We Hovered With Short Wings
    • When The Bottom Fell Out
    • A Walk In The Park

    Sing In My Meadow, Volume 3

    • Continental Drift
    • It’s Heavy Down Here
    • 3rd Crusade
    • Late Night Radio
    • Sing In my Meadow
    • Hunted
    • A Brides Place
    • I Move On

    The Wilderness, Volume 4

    • Unanswered Letter
    • Idle Tales
    • We Are The Selfish Ones
    • Angels In The Wilderness
    • Damaged From The Start
    • Fairytale
    • Staring Man
    • The Confession of Georgie E
    • I Let Him In
    • Fuck, I Hate the Cold


    • My Boy Burns
    • The Girl Behind The Man Behind The Gun
    • Old Hotel
    • Marathon
    • Punching Holes Through
    • Sad Peter Pan
    • Demons
    • Guilty By Association
    • Forthright
    • Stay Inside